IMG_6422

Eva & Sophie

IMG_6422

Meet Sophie.  I like her a lot!  Sophie is one of Tessuti’s new patterns, and as soon as I saw it I knew she had to be mine. I was in such a hurry to purchase that I bought the top instead of the dress, but that’s OK, I can draft my own skirt if I go that route – and I’m sure I will before long.  It’s just too good.

IMG_6419

Sophie has a beautiful fold back lapel that could be worked in so many ways.  Colette made a beautiful version with a button and loop that I’m going to try at some stage, and another version I saw with the lapel removed for a plain V neck. I had less than a yard of some lovely linen I had been saving which was not quite enough for anything substantial, but I managed to squeeze this top out of it by cutting the back in 2 halves and joining down the centre seam and by cutting the facing and bindings from another beautiful striped linen that was tucked away.  I had forgotten to print out the instructions so freestyled it and french seamed the back and sides and used this brilliant tutorial for attaching the binding – which was game changing for me. I didn’t interface the lapel as my facing fabric was slightly stiffer than the body fabric.

I’ve tried a lot of Tessuti patterns over the years and always love their simple styles, which are classic and flattering on a wide range of body shapes.  I love that the simplicity can be so beautiful on its own, but also made a great canvas for your own design features or for letting a particularly beautiful fabric sing without distraction.

For me – the sizing can be a difficult thing to pin down – and I’ve found muslins to be a must.  I have learned that on my body shape it might be best to go down a size (or 2) and see how that works.  I held a measuring tape across the flat pieces and across my body to ensure there was as much ease as I was happy with, cut the bodice only from non-precious fabric and tried that, then on to the final project.  I think I’d be an M for this project by their measurements, but I ended up cutting a Small and I’m really happy with the fit.

IMG_6412

And here is Eva – another Tessuti beauty that I have had my eye on for years…  YEARS.  I have tried on other people’s Eva’s at Craft Camp because I wasn’t sure of the shape on me – and while I love it on other people, it just seemed a bit shapeless on me.  Recently I tried on one that I was sure would be way too small, and while it was loose on the maker, it was snug on me, and I kind of liked that.  So I thought I’d cut out a muslin and fiddle with it from there.  A small, is good on me!  I shortened the skirt through the bottom panel – doubling the recommended reduction cause I’m only 157cm and it is a long garment.

IMG_6410

My version is made from some lovely slightly polished cotton in a steel grey from a dear friend’s late mother’s fabric stash.  I machine embroidered the bodice and one of the skirt lower panels to add some interest.  I also did a bit on the back of the bodice where the skirt joins to break up the huge expanse of grey.  I love machine embroidering, and letting the needle wander all over the fabric until the density of thread makes patterns of its own within the wider pattern.  Fun. So much fun.

IMG_6417

I can see lots of variations in this pattern.  I love it colour blocked like this, but it would also we great cropped as a tunic, or mini dress, or as a wrapped version in some beautiful wool for winter.  Hello Eva!  So glad to have you in my collection.

Leave a Reply

