Compartments

box

Hi.

It’s been forever hasn’t it!

Life has rolled over in ordinary and spectacular ways for months now with breathing time seeming to be in short supply and a heart overflowing with everything.

I’ve been trying to juggle things a bit too much, and have decided the best way to focus is to compartmentalise a bit.  To this end, I’ll be blogging about art over here:

michellesanger.wordpress

It’s a logical step and one I should have taken years ago – so if you are here for the art go follow me there.  I promise to be updating that much more often.

AND If you want to stay here and talk food, textiles & life in general, grab a cuppa.

break

I have embraced IQS is the most evangelical and spectacular way.  The embarassingly evangelical bit is probably why I havn’t blogged it.  It’s life changing.  I feel great.  I’ve lost weight and continue to at a glacial but steady pace.  My hands, which were giving me all sorts of grief are almost normal, and my energy levels are higher than they have been in years. Sugar is the devil.  Wheat comes pretty close, but I’m still having a bit of that now and then and not feeling bad about it.

When you are not eating that white stuff it doesn’t take long for your tastebuds to adjust.  And a roasted tomato is a feast on its own.  Sometimes I eat something that I know has bad stuff in it.  It’s not a tumble, it’s a calculated diversion.  A guilt free exploration of what I’m missing, and so much better to eat a ‘bad’ thing mindfully, than to scoff it guiltily.  I actually don’t feel like I’m missing anything.  I’ve gained so much. It’s good.  It’s ALL good.

red

There was another craft camp – which seems like ages ago now.  I made lots of things, and revelled totally in the beautiful community and moveable feast that abounds there. Those women.  I have no words.

I promised a recipe.  It’s here:

Middle Eastern(ish) Chicken  Serves 8

  • 1.5kg skinless chicken thighs (cut into thirds)
  • A big handful of olives (black or green)
  • 2 tablespoons crushed garlic
  • 2 tablespoons smoked paprika
  • 3 tablespoons sumac
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 3 preserved lemons (whole & un-rinsed)
  • A slug of olive oil – reserve for later
  • Handful of fresh mint leaves – reserve for later

Lay chicken pieces in a large baking tray, and throw in ALL ingredients except olive oil & mint.  Toss until chicken is coated and leave in the fridge to marinate for at least 5 hours (or overnight).

Heat oven to 180 (moderate), Add a slug of olive oil to the chicken and cook (covered with foil) for an hour, stirring at the 30 minute point.

Remove foil and cook for a further 30 minutes, stirring after 15 minutes.   Add torn mint leaves, and stir through.

Serve with rice and vegetable dish.

I seem to be in a great new phase of my life.  A time where I surrender to being dragged by other people’s needs & wants some of the time, and not guilty for pushing back when I need to.  It’s a curious thing this mother-life.  Throw an enriching partnership, working and art making in too and it gets a lot more complicated.  I said to my kids the other day how much I needed to be in the studio, and they were so fantastically supportive.  I just need to remind myself that feeling guilt is a choice – and that choosing studio time is nothing to feel guilty about.

I’m choosing 2015 as a year of branching out.

Leave a Reply

