remote

There are many things that bind us – as people to those around us.  They might be as simple as a smile from a neighbour on a walk down the street or a sunny comment from somebody on a tram.  Even the opportunity to go out of your way to be nice to someone who is obviously having a very bad day can make your whole week seem better.

Not that I’m having a bad time – I’m so NOT.  Everything is dreamy, relaxed and cruisy – well as cruisy as it can be when a new kitchen is about to be installed.  I’ll save that for another day….

One of the things I LOVE to do (which is still very new to me) is to go to craft camp – and immerse myself in the meal-sharing, skill-sharing, laughter and companionship that is guaranteed to come with a sew-fest in the company of lovely ladies with a similar outlook.

I couldn’t go to craft camp last weekend, and I wasn’t alone, so a few of us decided to go to remote craft camp and make something this weekend anyway, which was brilliant, and a really nice to way to expand the boundaries of the physical space that was occupied an hour or so away.   It was also nice to give myself permission to make something in an afternoon without worrying about the other things that should have been done – like painting, clearing out kitchen cupboards and making order in the studio.

I made this, out of linen – which was $4 a metre from Darn Cheap, and a collar which was $6.  Total cost was under $20 and thoroughly relaxing and fun on a very, very hot afternoon.  Bonuses included; no driving required and a man and a cat to cuddle up to overnight.

But I am looking forward to going to the next one….

And as an aside, I have to mention that I saw a story on this on TV last week and thought it was bloody brilliant.  Men need more things like this I think, especially when they finish work and perhaps don’t have so many people to speak to day to day.  It’s a wonderful initiative.  Men’s Shed Australia.  Community, company, inspiration and the opportunity to help.  Magic.

2 thoughts on “remote

Leave a Reply

