Tags

, , ,

When I was a kid we ate jelly a fair bit – and sometimes my Mum would make Flummery – one of those economical ‘luxuries’ made of jelly & evaporated milk that were a treat.  I remember loving Flummery as a kid but when I made it a few years ago for my kids none of us enjoyed it at all….

But the cool, fluffy texture dissolving gently in the mouth is something that has not really left me, and in seeking to capture that, I think I have made a pretty good discovery!

Coconut Mango A-gogo

You’ll need:

  • 1 packet of Mango jelly (Aeroplane brand in our house).
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • Food colouring (a few drops of yellow and red)
  • 50ml hot water.
  • Electric mixer, or egg beater.

Put the jelly crystals into a mug, with 50ml of boiling water, and stir to dissolve the crystals.  I found the crystals didn’t dissolve completely, so I put the mug into a microwave for 30 seconds, stirred it, then in for another 30 seconds.

Pour the coconut milk into a bowl, and give it a good stir.  Add the jelly mix, and stir well.  I then added a few drops of food colouring because our ‘jelly’ was a kind of milky tea colour which wasn’t pretty.

Put the coconut jelly into the fridge to chill for 2 hours, or until it wobbles but hasn’t completely set, then whip it up with an electric mixer to make it light and fluffy, and put it back in the fridge to completely set.

This one was just in a bowl, but it would be beautiful to make 2 or more colours, and after the beating stage, layer them in different colours in pretty glasses to reset in the fridge.

It would also be great with fresh berries, , but was devoured by us 4 in less than a minute just as it was….

